MCCA Announces 2015-2016 Recipients of LMJ Law School Scholarship

Friday, May 6, 2016 - 11:40

15 Scholarship Recipients Exemplify the Very Best Among Aspiring Lawyers

The Minority Corporate Counsel Association (MCCA) announced the recipients of the 2015- 2016 MCCA Lloyd M. Johnson, Jr. (LMJ) Scholarship. Named after the MCCA founder, this scholarship is made possible by the generous support of corporate sponsors Chevron, Groom Law, Microsoft, Pitney Bowes, Robert Half, Walmart, and many others.  This year, fifteen outstanding students were selected from a large and impressive pool of applicants from across the country, and awarded $10,000 each for law school. 

Since its inception in 2004, the MCCA LMJ Scholarship program has awarded over $2.85 million in scholarships to diverse individuals who are outstanding scholars, have an interest in corporate law, and possess a real commitment to diversity and inclusion.

“The LMJ Scholarship is one of MCCA’s most impactful programs.  These outstanding young men and women are the key to strengthening the nation’s pipeline of diverse legal talent across corporate America,” stated MCCA President and CEO Jean Lee. 
Microsoft, a committed partner of MCCA, has been a major donor of the program since 2005, funding three LMJ Scholars for all three years of the recipient’s legal education. “Advancing diversity in the legal profession begins with ensuring a diverse pipeline of talent is coming through the door,” said Brad Smith, Microsoft President and Chief Legal Officer. “Microsoft is honored to help these talented individuals reach their full potential and achieve bright futures.”

In addition to direct donations, MCCA raises funds for the scholarship at its annual General Counsel Summit (GCS), a four-day meeting of legal leaders, that recently took place in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida on April 13-16. 

MCCA’s 2015-2016 LMJ Scholarship Recipients:

Maria Adebayo, Microsoft Scholar
B.A. (with Honors), International Studies & Sociology, John Hopkins University 
University of California, Berkeley, School of Law

Marina Bontkowski, MCCA Scholar
B.A. Psychology, Harvard University
M.A. Forensic Mental Health Counseling, CUNY-John Jay College 
University of California, Berkeley, School of Law 

Antionette Carradine, MCCA Scholar
B.A. History, Eastern Nazarene College 
George Washington University Law School
Shundra Nicole Crumpton, Walmart Scholar

B.A. English, Vanderbilt University 
Vanderbilt University Law School
Miguel Eduardo Del Mundo, MCCA Scholar
B.A. (Magna Cum Laude), Political Science & B.S., Public Policy, University of Southern California
Pepperdine University School of Law

Destiny Dike, Groom Law Scholar
B.B.A. (with Honors), Accounting, Baylor University 
M.S. Education, John Hopkins University School of Education 
New York University School of Law

Alexandria Gilbert, Microsoft Scholar
B.A. American Studies, University of Alabama
M.A. American Studies, University of Alabama 
Stanford Law School

Steven Lewis Morris Jr., MCCA Scholar
B.A. Political Science, Stanford University
University of Virginia School of Law

Claudia Ojeda, Microsoft Scholar
B.A. (Cum Laude), Criminology, University of Florida 
George Washington University Law School 

Taylor (Padilla) Gibson, MCCA Scholar
B.A. (Summa Cum Laude), Family Science, Anderson University 
Boston College Law School

Joo Hyun Michelle Park, Chevron Scholar
B.A. Economics, University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Berkeley, School of Law

Brittany Alexis Porter, Robert Half Scholar
B.S. (Magna Cum Laude), Business Administration, Hampton University 
Pepperdine University School of Law 

Heidi Savabi, MCCA Scholar
B.A. (Magna Cum Laude), International Relations & Latin American Studies, University of Miami
Northwestern University School of Law 

Bianca Serrato, MCCA Scholar
B.A. (Magna Cum Laude), International Studies & Political Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Northwestern University School of Law 

Leah Wong-Pitney Bowes Scholar
B.A. Political Science, University of California, San Diego 
University of Pennsylvania Law School

For more information on the 2015-2016 LMJ Scholarship recipients, please click here.