Kelley Drye Represents Creditors In Bankruptcy Matter; Six Attorneys Named Leaders Of ABA Antitrust Section; Firm’s Attorneys Named 2014 New York Super Lawyers

Friday, October 17, 2014 - 14:27

Kelley Drye has been retained as counsel to the Official Committee of Unsecured Creditors of GT Advanced Technologies Inc. On October 6, 2014, GTAT and certain subsidiaries filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in New Hampshire. On October 14, 2014, the Committee selected Kelley Drye as its bankruptcy counsel.

GTAT manufactures and sells sapphire, photovoltaic, and polysilicon products and values its assets at approximately $1.5 billion.

The Kelley Drye team is led by partner James S. Carr and includes special counsel Jason R. Adams.


The American Bar Association’s Section of Antitrust Law has elected William C. MacLeod as its vice chair for 2015.  He joins five other Kelley Drye attorneys – Alysa Hutnik, John Villafranco, Christie Thompson, Dana Rosenfeld and Dan Blynn – who also took leadership roles within the section.

Among the vice chair’s responsibilities is the long range planning of the section.  Bill will head that effort in 2014 and 2015.  Before assuming his current rule, he was the Section’s program officer, its delegate to the ABA House of Delegates, and its Consumer Protection officer. 

With more than 7,500 members, the ABA Section of Antitrust Law is the world’s leading professional organization for antitrust and competition law, trade regulation, consumer protection, and economics. The other Kelley Drye attorneys with senior leadership positions at the ABA Antitrust Section for 2015 are:

Privacy and Information Security partner Alysa Z. Hutnik, Section council member.  Alysa is a past chair of the ABA’s Privacy and Information Security Committee, was the editor-in-chief of the ABA’s Data Security Handbook, a co-chair of the ABA’s 2011 Consumer Protection Conference, and has been an editor and contributor to the ABA’s newsletter, The Secure Times, which addresses privacy and data security legal developments.

Advertising and Marketing partner John E. Villafranco, chair of the Advertising Disputes and Litigation Committee.  John is the former chair of the ABA Consumer Protection Committee and was the editor-in-chief of the Consumer Protection Law Developments treatise (1st ed.). He also chaired the Consumer Protection Conference in 2007 and 2009, was a member of the ABA Antitrust Section’s Presidential Transition Report Task Force and the International Task Force, and was the co-chair of the 2011-2012 Antitrust Section Spring Meetings.

Advertising and Marketing Practice chair Christie Grymes Thompson, vice chair of the Membership and Diversity Committee.  Christie is also a former chair of the ABA Consumer Protection Committee, a former member of the Nominating Committee, and a former vice chair of the Long-Range Planning Committees.

Privacy and Information Security Practice chair Dana B. Rosenfeld, vice chair of the Privacy and Information Security Committee.  Dana is the former vice chair of the Committee on Private Advertising Litigation, and the former associate editor of the ABA’s ANTITRUST magazine.

Advertising and Marketing Special Counsel Daniel S. Blynn, vice chair of the Consumer Protection Committee.  Dan is a former vice chair and young lawyer representative to the Advertising Disputes & Litigation Committee.


Each year, Super Lawyers, a Thomson Reuters business, undertakes research to identify each state's "Super Lawyers" – those the publisher deems are among the state's top five percent with regard to "peer recognition and professional achievement." Results of the research for the New York metro area announced that 25 Kelley Drye attorneys were named "Super Lawyers" for 2014.

Steven P. Caley

John M. Callagy

Andrea L. Calvaruso

James S. Carr

Carolyn R. Caufield

Jonathan K. Cooperman

Robert E. Crotty

Richard E. Donovan

Paul F. Doyle

William A. Escobar

William R. Golden Jr.

Robert L. Haig

William C. Heck

Barbara E. Hoey

August T. Horvath

Michael S. Insel

Beth D. Jacob

Thomas B. Kinzler

Robert L. LeHane

Michael C. Lynch

Christina M. Mason

Neil M. Merkl

Sarah L. Reid

Robert I. Steiner

Eric R. Wilson

Partner James S. Carr was also named by Super Lawyers in the New York Metro Top 100 Lawyers for 2014. Those recognized as the Top 100 Lawyers for Super Lawyers 2014 received the highest point totals in the New York Metro nomination, research and blue ribbon review process.

In addition, 11 Kelley Drye attorneys were named New York Metro area “Rising Stars” by Super Lawyers – a prestigious list comprised of no more than 2.5 percent of lawyers in the state.

Jason R. Alderson

Victoria E. Anderson

Pamela Bruzzese-Szczygiel

Melissa E. Byroade

Ana Y. Correa

Sung W. Kim

Marisa A. Lorenzo

Taraneh J. Marciano

Jaclyn M. Metzinger

Sojin Yoon

Matthew Zucker