Phillips Lytle Ranks Number One In Buffalo For Inclusion On Best Lawyers® List For Third Consecutive Year

Friday, August 16, 2013 - 10:31

Phillips Lytle LLP, one of the region’'s best-known law firms, has announced that it leads all other Buffalo area law firms for the number of attorneys named to The Best Lawyers in America 2014 list.

Forty-six of its Buffalo attorneys were named to the annual list which includes attorneys from five Phillips Lytle offices. The list was compiled and published by Woodward/White, Inc., Aiken, SC.

In addition, four Buffalo partners were cited as “Lawyer of the Year” in their respective legal discipline.  Morgan G. Graham was named Buffalo Litigation - Environmental “Lawyer of Year,” Raymond H. Seitz was named Buffalo Banking and Finance Law “Lawyer of the Year” for a second time, Ronald S. Shubert was named Buffalo Litigation –- Real Estate “Lawyer of the Year” and Sharon L. Wick was named Buffalo Litigation -– Trusts & Estates “Lawyer of Year.”

“It is a tremendous honor to once again be included on this highly-respected list.  We are proud to be recognized across so many of our practice areas and office locations again this year.  Inclusion on this list speaks to the quality of our work and the depth of our expertise,” said David J. McNamara, Managing Partner, Phillips Lytle LLP.

Frederick G. Attea, a partner with the Buffalo office, was named to the list for a 25th time. Buffalo office partners William J. Brown, James D. Donathen, Robert E. Glanville, Robert Michael Greene, Paul Morrison-Taylor, Michael B. Powers, Raymond H. Seitz, John C. Spitzmiller and Paul B. Zuydhoek, were are listed for a 10th time.  

In addition to the 46 Phillips Lytle Buffalo lawyers included in the rankings, The Best Lawyers in America 2014 also cited nine attorneys from the firm’s Rochester office and one each from its Jamestown, Albany and New York City offices.

The 46 lawyers from the Buffalo office include: Frederick G. Attea (Corporate Law), Raymond H. Barr (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law), Cindy Kaplan Bennes (Product Liability Litigation –- Defendants), Edward S. Bloomberg (Commercial Litigation), Glenn J. Bobeck (Corporate Law), Peter D. Braun (Commercial Litigation/Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants), William J. Brennan (Commercial Litigation), William J. Brown (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights /Insolvency and Reorganization Law/Litigation -– Bankruptcy), James J. Contino (Real Estate Law), Douglas W. Dimitroff (Real Estate Law), James D. Donathen (Employment Law – Management/Labor Law – Management/Litigation - Labor & Employment), Deborah A. Doxey (Banking and Finance Law), Kevin J. English (Commercial Litigation), Robert E. Glanville (Environmental Law/Product Liability Litigation -– Defendants), Victoria L. Grady (Banking and Finance Law), Morgan G. Graham(Environmental Law/Litigation -– Environmental/Litigation - Land Use & Zoning), James R. Grasso (Employment Law – Management/Labor Law – Management), Robert Michael Greene (Health Care Law), Tamar P. Halpern (Commercial Litigation/Product Liability Litigation - Defendants), Kevin M. Hogan Environmental Law/Litigation -– Environmental), Paul F.  Jones (Commercial Litigation/Product Liability Litigation -– Defendants), David H. Kernan (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law),Gary F. Kotaska (Corporate Law/Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law), Kenneth A. Manning (Bet-the-Company Litigation/Commercial Litigation/Litigation & Controversy –- Tax/Litigation -– Labor & Employment/ Litigation –- Municipal/Personal Injury Litigation –- Defendants), Lisa McDougall (Health Care Law), David J. McNamara (Commercial Litigation/Litigation - Banking & Finance), Angela Zwirecki Miller (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law), Michael R. Moravec (Employment Law – Management/Labor Law –- Management), Paul Morrison-Taylor (Personal Injury Litigation -– Defendants), David J. Murray (Corporate Law), John A. Pappano (Real Estate Law), Michael B. Powers (Personal Injury Litigation –- Defendants), Rowland Richards (Patent Law), Arthur A. Russ, Jr. (Corporate Law/Trusts and Estates), John G. Schmidt Jr. (Commercial Litigation), Raymond H. Seitz (Banking and Finance Law/Corporate Law/Equipment Finance Law/Financial Services Regulation Law), Ronald S. Shubert (Litigation - Real Estate/Real Estate Law), James W. Smyton (Corporate Law), Peter K. Sommer(Copyright Law/Litigation - Intellectual Property/Patent Law/Trademark Law), John C. Spitzmiller (Litigation - Trusts & Estates/Trusts and Estates), Paul K. Stecker(Commercial Litigation/Litigation -– ERISA), James W. Whitcomb (Commercial Litigation/Personal Injury Litigation -– Defendants), Sharon L. Wick (Litigation - Trusts & Estates/Trusts and Estates), Alan M. Wishnoff (Personal Injury Litigation -– Defendants),Thomas S. Wiswall (Commercial Litigation), and Paul B. Zuydhoek (Bet-the-Company Litigation/Commercial Litigation/Product Liability Litigation –- Defendants).