Environmental Law Institute Elects NRDC Co-Founder Edward L. Strohbehn Jr. As New Board Chair

Tuesday, January 10, 2012 - 13:19

Environmental Law Institute


The Environmental Law Institute is pleased to announce the election of Edward L. Strohbehn Jr. as the new Board Chairman. His legal career includes substantial government and public interest-sector experience. He co-founded and served as a lawyer with the Natural Resources Defense Council (1970-1977). He was executive director of the Council on Environmental Quality, Executive Office of the President (1977-1981). Edward was a director of Resources for the Future (RFF) (1995-2004), and is a member of the Leadership Council of the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies (2001 to present). He was a law clerk for retired Chief Justice Earl Warren, United States Supreme Court (1969-1970).

In October 2010, Strohbehn, along with three Yale Law School colleagues, was awarded the Yale Law School’s highest honor -- the Yale Law School Alumni Association Award of Merit. Strohbehn and his colleagues were cited for their pioneering role in founding the Natural Resources Defense Council and their extraordinary careers in environmental law. In July 2011, he was elected to the American College of Environmental Lawyers. At ELI, he succeeds outgoing Chairman William Eichbaum.

ELI also welcomes three new members to our Board: Alexandra Dapolito Dunn, executive director and general counsel, Association of Clean Water Administrators; Ann R. Klee, vice president for Environment, Health & Safety , General Electric Company; and William H. Meadows, president, The Wilderness Society (Washington, D.C.)
ELI President John C. Cruden applauds the selection of the new board members, saying “All of ELI joins me in welcoming this extraordinary group of individuals to our Board. They are leading professionals from across the United States who will guide us to great accomplishments in the future.”