Sheppard Mullin Honors Chairman with Firm's Annual Diversity & Inclusion Award

Friday, December 19, 2014 - 14:52

Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP has honored firm chairman Guy Halgren with the firm's fifth Diversity & Inclusion Award, an award that recognizes the significant diversity and inclusion commitment of a Sheppard Mullin attorney.

"Guy is an incredibly passionate advocate of diversity and inclusion within the firm and we are thrilled to recognize his leadership and dedication to efforts and initiatives in this area. I am privileged to co-chair Sheppard Mullin's LGBT lawyer group, Out at Sheppard. Guy was key in launching the group and continues to support it and the firm's other affinity groups, which include women attorneys, attorneys of color and parents," stated partner Candace Matson.

"I am honored by the firm's recognition and proud of the accomplishments we have achieved in this area as a firm. We continue to make progress through each attorney's contribution to our diversity efforts," said Mr. Halgren.

The award includes a financial contribution to a diversity-related organization, along with an offer of Sheppard Mullin attorney volunteers to participate in the organization’s initiatives and programs. The 2014 award organization recipient is the Council on Legal Education Opportunity (CLEO), a nonprofit ABA entity and national college-to-law school diversity pipeline program with a history of success mentoring diverse students. 

Mr. Halgren is a partner in the Labor and Employment practice group in the firm's San Diego office and is chairman of the firm's executive committee. Since he became chairman in 2001, Sheppard Mullin has grown strategically to meet the needs of its clients. Under his leadership, the firm has opened offices in Beijing, Brussels, Century City, Chicago, London, New York, North County San Diego, Palo Alto, Seoul, Shanghai and Washington, D.C.  

The Sheppard Mullin Diversity & Inclusion Award was created to recognize an individual or team of attorneys in the firm for their commitment to diversity & inclusion programs and initiatives in the legal profession. Recipients are selected based on their overall contributions and dedication to advancing the firm's mission in this area.