Wiley Rein Ranked Among The Nation's “Top 100 Law Firms for Diversity” By MultiCultural Law Magazine

Thursday, May 17, 2012 - 14:10


Wiley Rein has been included in MultiCultural Law magazine's “Top 100 Law Firms for Diversity” 2012 listing. The firm was also ranked in the magazine's “Top 50 Law Firms for Partners” and “Top 100 Law Firms for Women.”

Annually, MultiCultural Law magazine distributes surveys to law firms across the nation and derives their diversity statistics to later create the highly competitive “Top 100 Law Firms for Diversity.” Additionally, statistics are gathered for other lists, including “Top 100 Law Firms for Women,” “Top 50 Law Firms for Partners,” “Top 50 Law Firms for Associates,” “Top 25 Law Firms for African-Americans,” “Top 25 Law Firms for Asian-Americans” and “Top 25 Law Firms for Hispanic-Americans.”

* * *

On May 1, 2012, the Catholic University of America's Columbus School of Law, in conjunction with the Institute for Communications Law Studies and the Communications Law Institute Alumni Association, held a reception to honor Wiley Rein Chairman Richard E. Wiley with its prestigious Milestone Award.  The award was presented at a benefit reception and ceremony at The Renaissance Mayflower Hotel, with proceeds going to the Professor Harvey L. Zuckman Scholarship Fund, established in honor of the Institute's founder.

The Milestone Award recognizes attorneys in the field of communications law and policy for exemplary service to the law school and outstanding achievement in their field.  It is only the third time the Institute has bestowed the award since its inception in 1996.

“Mr. Wiley has repeatedly been recognized as one of the nation's 100 “most influential” lawyers by The National Law Journal. If the Columbus School of Law kept such a list, he would certainly rank at the top of our own,” said law school Dean Veryl V. Miles.  “Mr. Wiley's unwavering support of our Institute for Communications Law Studies has been a critical factor in its success. The mentorship he has provided to so many of our Institute alumni has been immeasurable and this celebration is a testament of our appreciation for all that he has done.” 

Mr. Wiley, a former chairman of the Federal Communications Commission and a recipient of an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the Columbus School of Law, was honored for his longstanding and wide-ranging commitment to the law school and the Institute. 

For more than 20 years, Mr. Wiley has encouraged Wiley Rein attorneys to serve as adjunct faculty and guest speakers at the University; sponsored the Institute's annual Symposium, National Moot Court competition and special events; and served as a member of the Editorial Advisory Board for the CommLaw Conspectus: Journal of Communications Law and Policy.

The event raised over $135,000, enough to award scholarships to deserving law students with a demonstrated interest in pursuing a career in communications law.  

The Milestone Award was first given in 1996 to the late James Quello, a former FCC Chairman and a public policy consultant at Wiley Rein.  It was awarded in 2001 to former FCC Commissioner Kathleen Q. Abernathy, an alumna of the Institute.

* * *

Twenty-six Wiley Rein partners were included in the 2012 list of Washington DC Super Lawyers, the highest total the firm has ever received. The recognized attorneys represent 13 areas of the law, reflecting the breadth of Wiley Rein's legal talent across a multitude of disciplines.

In addition, Wiley Rein Chairman Richard E. Wiley, Telecommunications Group Chair R. Michael Senkowski, Bankruptcy & Financial Restructuring Practice Chair H. Jason Gold and Insurance Appellate Group Chair Laura A. Foggan were included as four of the District's “Top 100” lawyers. Ms. Foggan and Kathleen A. Kirby, co-chair of the Media Group, were named two of the “Top 50” women lawyers in the District.

Included on the list are Rand L. Allen (Government Contracts); Richard J. Bodorff (Communications); Thomas W. Brunner (Antitrust Litigation); James N. Czaban (FDA); Laura A. Foggan (Insurance Coverage); Jennifer D. Hindin (Communications); H. Jason Gold (Bankruptcy & Creditor/Debtor Rights); Bruce G. Joseph (Intellectual Property); Paul F. Khoury (Government Contracts); Kathleen A. Kirby (First Amendment); Alexander M. Laughlin (Bankruptcy & Creditor/Debtor Rights); Andrew G. McBride (Communications); Valerie P. Morrison (Bankruptcy & Creditor/Debtor Rights); Kirk J. Nahra (Health Care); Bert W. Rein (Antitrust Litigation); Henry M. Rivera (Communications); Bennett L. Ross (Communications); R. Michael Senkowski (Communications); Daniel J. Standish (Insurance Coverage); Michael Toner (Political Law); David H. Topol (Insurance Coverage); Charles Owen Verrill, Jr. (International); Nancy J. Victory (Communications); Helgi C. Walker (Appellate); James H. Wallace, Jr. (Intellectual Property Litigation); and Richard E. Wiley (First Amendment).

Only five percent of Washington, DC-area lawyers are named to the “Super Lawyer” list after a process that includes peer nominations and evaluations, as well as third-party research.

More like this