Kelley Drye Insurance Recovery Team Win 2010 Burton Award For Excellence in Legal Writing

Wednesday, June 2, 2010 - 01:00

Partner John E. Heintz, special counsel Marla H. Kanemitsu and associate Elizabeth C. Johnson were selected as 2010 Burtons Awards for Legal Achievement recipients.The award honors excellence in legal scholarship and writing.Their article, "Insurance Coverage for Climate Change Suits: The Battle Has Begun," was published in the Environmental Claims Journal (March 2009).It analyzed two climate change-related lawsuits: Steadfast Insurance Co. v. The AES Corporation and Native Village of Kivalina, et al. v. ExxonMobil Corp., et al.

Each year, only 30 articles are chosen from entries submitted by the nation's largest and most prestigious law firms.The Eleventh Anniversary Burton Awards event will be held in the Library of Congress on June 14, 2010.The program is a non-profit academic effort.Guest speakers this year include Supreme Court Justice Ruth Ginsberg; author Bryan Garner; and senior analyst for CNN Worldwide and author of The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court, Jeffrey Toobin.Journalist and political commentator Bill Press will be the master of ceremonies.

The submissions were judged by an academic board led by Virginia Wise, a renowned teacher at Harvard Law School; Anne E. Kringel, a widely recognized expert in legal writing at the University of Pennsylvania Law School; Grace Tonner, a prominent dean from the University of California Law School at Irvine; Judge Ed Forstenzer, a distinguished judge from California's Superior Court (retired); and William Ryan, a direct descendent of Noah Webster.

More like this